BCCI press conference LIVE updates: Rohit Sharma, Ajit Agarkar to begin PC soon on India’s T20 World Cup squad

Days after the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) chief selector Ajit Agarkar announced the T20 World Cup squad for the Indian cricket team, former cricketers and experts have raised their objections. Former Indian pacer Irfan Pathan even said that appoint Hardik Pandya as vice captain for the team was a bad decision.

Now, Indian skipper Rohit Sharma and BCCI chief selector Ajit Agarkar on 2 May at 4:30 pm will address queries surrounding the squad’s notable inclusions and exclusions, including Rinku Singh’s omission and Hardik’s vice-captainship.

Here are live updates:

Rohit Sharma arrives at BCCI HQ: Indian cricket team skipper captain Rohit Sharma arrives at BCCI headquarters in Mumbai.


ALSO READ: Hardik Pandya better than Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav: Mohd Kaif justifies BCCI’s T20 World Cup squad

The squad announced had to be done by May 1 as it was ICC’s deadline. However, changes in the squad can still be made until May 25. This means players like Rinku Singh and Shubman Gill, who are in the reserves, can still make it to the Final 15.

On the other hand, major T20 players like KL Rahul and Ruturaj Gaikwad were not part of BCCI’s selection. It will be interesting to see Rohit Sharma changes anything in the squad and make these impressive IPL 2024 performers part of the Indian squad.

ALSO READ: ‘Why is Shubman Gill selected for T20 World Cup squad?’ Cricket legend says BCCI chooses GT captain ‘even if he fails’

Ruturaj Gaikwad started wearing the Orange Cup, given to the tournament’s highest run-scorer, after Chennai Super Kings’ match against Punjab Kings (PBKS) on May 1. He surpassed Virat Kohli. He has scored 509 runs in 10 innings.

ALSO READ: India T20 World Cup 2024 Squad announced: No Rinku Singh in Final 15; Furious netizens say ‘He’s given everything’

KL Rahul is not far away. The Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) skipper has scored 406 runs in 10 innings and is currently in 4th place in the race for the Orange Cup.

It was believed that IPL 2024 performances would play a major role in the BCCI’s selection of the Indian squad for the T20 World Cup. However, a few players have been chosen despite having muted performances in the ongoing T20 tournament.

India T20 World Cup 2024 Squad:

Rohit Sharma (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Hardik Pandya (VC), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

Reserves – Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan

(This is a developing story. Check back for more details.)



Unlock a world of Benefits! From insightful newsletters to real-time stock tracking, breaking news and a personalized newsfeed – it’s all here, just a click away! Login Now!

Catch all the Sports News and Updates on Live Mint.
Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.


Published: 02 May 2024, 04:24 PM IST

Leave a Comment