SRH vs RCB IPL 2024: Sunrisers break own record for highest total, score 287 runs in 20 overs

Sunrisers Hyderabad on April 15 broke their record of scoring the highest runs in the Indian Premier League (IPL), as they hammered 287 runs in 20 overs while playing against Royal Challengers Bangalore at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. 

In the innings, 22 whopping sixes were shot, along with 19 boundaries, by the power hitters of Sunrisers Hyderabad – Travis Head (102), Abhishek Sharma (34), Heinrich Klaasen (67), Aiden Markram (32) and Abdul Samad (37). 

The clash between RCB and SRH was not an ordinary one, as many new records were made and broken. 

The Sunrisers breached their previous record of scoring 277 runs against Mumbai Indians in the current IPL tournament. Not only the current total of 287 is the highest in IPL tournaments so far, but it is also the second-highest in T20 cricket history. 

ALSO READ: RCB vs SRH: Travis Head slams fourth fastest century in IPL history, inches closer to unique record in tournament

Highest T20 score:

Until now, the highest-ever T20 score was hit by Nepal – 314/3 – against Mongolia Hangzhou in 2023. After this, SRH’s 287/3 is the highest, followed by 278/3 by Afghanistan against Ireland at Dehradun in 2019. Czech Republic scored 278/4 against Turkey at Iflov Country in 2019 and SRH’s posted 277/3 against Mumbai Indians at Hyderabad in 2024. 

Highest totals in IPL:

Let us take a look at the IPL data here. SRH’s 287/3 against RCB at Bengaluru on Monday is the highest score till now, while SRH’s 277/3 against MI at Hyderabad this season is the second highest. The third highest IPL score belongs to Kolkata Knight Riders who smashed 272/7 against Delhi Capitals at Vizag this season. RCB had hit 263/5 against Pune Warriors at Bengaluru in 2023, while the fifth highest IPL score came from Lucknow Super Giants, who scored 257/7 against Punjab Kings at Mohali in 2023. Three of the five 250-plus totals have come in the 2024 IPL edition alone.

Fastest 100s in IPL by balls faced:

Coming to the fastest century scored in IPL, Chris Gayle leads the chart as he scored it in 30 balls against Pune Warriors in Bengaluru in 2013. He is followed by Yusuf Pathan who did this magic in 37 balls against MI in Mumbai in 2010. David Miller has achieved this feat in 38 balls while playing against RCB in Mohali in 2013. Travis Head tarnished the RCB bowling attack by scoring his century in 39 balls in 2024. The fifth spot is reserved for Adam Gilchrist, who scored a century in just 42 deliveries against Mumbai Indians in 2008. 

Fastest to 200 by a team in IPL:

Among other records that SRH clinched include the fastest 200 by a team in IPL. The fastest team to score 200 runs belong to RCB who did it in 14.1 overs, while playing against PBKS at Bengaluru in 2016. However, it was a 15-over match. 

SRH’s latest performance of scoring the fastest 200 runs arrived in 14.4 overs, as they faced MI in Bengaluru in 2024, followed by Sunrisers again against RCB in 14.6 overs at Bengaluru in 2024. The fourth fastest 200 arrived from KKR’s batters who achieved the feat against Delhi Capitals in 15.2 overs at Vizag in 2024.   

Most sixes in IPL innings:

The records don’t seem to end, as SRH’s batters smashed 22 sixes against RCB in Bengaluru in 2024, while the second spot came from RCB’s batters who hammered 21 sixes against Pune Warriors at Bengaluru in 2013. RCB’s batters did a repeat in 2016 in Bengaluru, when they scored 20 sixes against Gujarat Lions (GL). In 2017, Delhi Capitals’ stars hit 20 sixes against GL in Delhi, while MI’s batters hit 20 sixes against SRH in Hyderabad in 2024.

ALSO READ: ‘Rubbish bowling to be honest’: Irfan Pathan slams RCB’s pace attack as SRH score climbs to 205/2 in 15 overs   

Most expensive figures in IPL:

Not only for the batters, but it was a day for the bowlers also to set new records. Looking at the most expensive figures in IPL, Basil Thampi gave 70 runs without a wicket against RCB in Bengaluru in 2018. It was followed by Yash Dayal who conceded 69 runs against KKR at Ahmedabad in 2023. Today, RCB’s Reece Topley conceded 68 runs against SRH in Bengaluru. 

It was the first time that four bowlers of a single team conceded 50-plus runs in the same innings. RCB’s R Topley conceded 68 runs, Yash Dayal conceded 51, Lockie Ferguson 52 and Vijaykumar Vyshak gave 64 runs respectively. 

Unlock a world of Benefits! From insightful newsletters to real-time stock tracking, breaking news and a personalized newsfeed – it’s all here, just a click away! Login Now!

Catch all the Sports News and Updates on Live Mint.
Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.


Published: 15 Apr 2024, 09:16 PM IST

Leave a Comment