Rohit Sharma becomes first batsman to hit 50 sixes in World Cup, breaks Chris Gayle’s record

Rohit Sharma created a unique record at the semi-final game against New Zealand. Rohit Sharma became the first batsman in the World Cup to hit 50 or more sixes and breaking Chris Gayle’s record of hitting  49 sixes. Rohit Sharma has already 51 sixes in this tournament. Rohit Sharma  has also got another record to his name for hitting the most number of sixes in a single edition of the World Cup. Rohit Sharma  has already hit 27 sixes in the 2023 edition of World Cup. Rohit Sharma also completed his 2,000 runs as captain of India in 44 matches. Rohit Sharma scored 47 runs in 29 deliveries before being caught by Kane Williamson off the bowling of  Tim Southee.

Earlier,  Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to bat against New Zealand in the World Cup semi-final clash at the Wankhede Stadium on Wednesday.

The Men in Blue have set out to seek revenge for their 2019 semi-final World Cup defeat. Martin Guptill’s runout broke the hearts of the Indian fans. But four years later, India will be keen to take their revenge after clinching their first victory against New Zealand since 2003.

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma said during the time of toss, “We are gonna bat first. Looks like a good pitch. Looks like on the slower side. Whatever we do, we need to do well. I think it was back in 2019 when we played the semis. NZ is one of the most consistent sides. Very important day. Constantly, talking about how important it is abiut turning up on that day. Same team.”

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson said during the time of toss, “We would have batted first. Hopefully, some dew later. Amazing occasion. Four years ago, similar situation but a different location. They have been playing some good cricket. Always a building phase between the tournaments. Need to assess what is in front of you when the tournament starts. We are going with the same team from the previous match.”

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

New Zealand (Playing XI): Devon Conway, Rachin Ravindra, Kane Williamson(c), Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Tom Latham(w), Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult.

Milestone Alert!Livemint tops charts as the fastest growing news website in the world 🌏 Click here to know more.

Catch all the Sports News and Updates on Live Mint.
Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.


Updated: 15 Nov 2023, 02:45 PM IST

Leave a Comment