IPL 2024 RCB vs MI: Glenn Maxwell OUT for duck for the third time this season; here’s how netizens react

Royal Challengers’ star batter Glenn Maxwell on April 11 went back for a duck while the team was facing Mumbai Indians at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai in the ongoing Indian Premier League.

It is Maxwell’s third duck of the season, as he once again failed to open his account.

Arrived to bat after Rajat Patidar, who was back in the pavilion after scoring a half-century, Maxwell faced four balls and lost his wicket to Mumbai Indian’s Shreyas Gopal via an LBW.

Maxwell’s performance has been disappointing so far In this IPL season. He scored zero in the first match, 3 in the second, 28 in the third, zero in the fourth, one in the fifth match and zero again in the sixth match. In total, Maxwell has scored just 32 runs in six matches.

ALSO READ: T20 WC 2024: Glenn Maxwell makes bizarre comment on Virat Kohli, says, ‘I hope India don’t pick him…’

As soon as Maxwell departed for a duck, netizens started flooding social media with all sorts of memes and reactions.

Take a look at some of the reactions here:

One netizen wrote, “3 DUCKS 🦆 IN 6 INNINGS FOR GLENN MAXWELL IN IPL 2024…!!!”

Another netizen commented: “Can Maxwell try not to make it obvious that Aussies are deliberately underperforming this IPL (SIC)”

Some also shared memes.


A user wrote on X, “Get Rid of Maxwell.He should never play for RCB again”

Aisha wrote, “Maxwell chewing bhool gya tha toh wapis gya hai #RCBvsMI”

Nitin Yadav write, “Glenn Maxwell goes for a four-ball duck. RCB fans: ‘Well, at least he’s consistent… consistently disappointing. 😭”

Looking at the data, the maximum number of ducks in the IPL history belongs to Dinesh Kartik, Rohit Sharma and Glenn Maxwell. All of them went back to the pavilion for a duck 17 times.

They are followed by Rashid Khan, Piyush Chawla, Sunil Narine and Mandeep Singh, when they were out for a duck 15 times. Manoj Pandey and Ambati Rayadu were out for zero 14 times in IPL history.

RCB vs MI:

After winning the toss, Mumbai Indians’ skipper Hardik Pandya chose to field. While batting first, Royal Challengers scored 196 runs after losing 8 wickets. 

Faf du Plessis scored 65 runs, Rajat Patidar scored a half-century (50) and Dinesh Kartik too completed his half-century unbeaten and scored 53 runs.

For Mumbai Indians, Jasprit Bumrah picked up 5 wickets, while Shreyas Gopal, Gerald Coetzee and Akash Madhwal took one wicket each.

Unlock a world of Benefits! From insightful newsletters to real-time stock tracking, breaking news and a personalized newsfeed – it’s all here, just a click away! Login Now!

Catch all the Sports News and Updates on Live Mint.
Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.


Published: 11 Apr 2024, 08:58 PM IST

Leave a Comment